Tags

, ,

18753789

Blurb:

I met Sarah Kate Erickson when I was twenty-one years old. I was lucky enough to keep her for seven years before a tragic accident stole her from me. She didn’t die, but sometimes I think it would have been easier if she had.

I lived in a haze for those four years after the accident. Catering to her every need, even though she hated the very sight of my face. I tried to hold on to her and the future that we were supposed to build together. But you can’t hold on to someone that doesn’t exist anymore.

It wasn’t until I met Jesse Addison, a barista at the local coffee shop, that I realized I didn’t just lose Sarah that tragic night, I lost myself as well. Jesse taught me how to let go of the past and learn to love again. But what happens when your past haunts your present and the woman you used to love refuses to accept the woman you can’t live without?

 

Review:

Life doesn’t always turn out like you plan. You are living the dream, friends, family, love and in a blink of an eye your world can be turned upside. You are left without direction, for there is no way to go back to the way things were and no foreseeable way to move forward.  “Changing Course” by Aly Martinez is a great read about one man’s journey on how he moves on once his life is taken of course.

Brett Sharp had it all. He found the love of his life in Sarah. He was happy, he had his  future all mapped out. They were going to have children and a white picket fence and it was going to be beautiful and amazing, until one tragic accident strips that away from him. In the beginning of “Changing Course, Brett is trapped in a life that makes him miserable. He is unable to let go of the woman he loves , and unable to move on. That all changes when he meets Jesse.

Brett’s life is complicated, however with Jesse he finds a person who he can move on with. Brett is a great guy and you will fall in love with him because he is a man of integrity. What he lives through and how he stands by the person he loved is so honorable that you will hate the position he is in. He says about Jesse “I now see the sun behind the fog…” and that line gets to me every time I read it because it captures what I feel is the heart of the book. How you let go and learn to move on? How do you see the sun and leave the fog behind?

Although the story is really about Brett’s journey you can’t forget about Jesse. She is the anchor in this story. I love this girl. She was fun, spunky, good-hearted and kept a level head. Some people will love her, some will hate her. I choose to love her. At times she was fearless and really put her self out, and although she is a little innocent she is a good person and exactly what Brett needs after all the drama in his life. The story is told from dual point of view. I felt her point of view was the more prominent of the two, however her purpose is to allow his characters to find a way into the light.

I really enjoyed this book. I know I will be reading the other books in the series once they come out, because I love these characters.  This book will stick with me for a while.

amazon: http://amzn.com/B00I2FHKGM

5star

