Tags

, ,

18480026

Blurb:

Life works in mysterious ways.
Four years ago I became known as the girl with cancer.
I refuse to cry.
And I refuse to give in.
A relationship with a man is the last thing I’m looking for right now, but one night with Parker changes everything. He is persistent, and he knows what he wants. Me.
He doesn’t treat me like I’m fragile.
But he doesn’t know, and I’m not ready to tell him.
What if it changes everything?
Tragedy found me when I was seventeen.
Love found me when I was twenty-one.
My name is Aundrea McCall, and this is my journey
 

Review:

Heartbreaking, honest, breathtaking, are just some words that I can use to describe What’s Left of Me by Amanda Maxlyn. A story of a young adult journey with cancer and a boy who steals her heart along the way. The story is mostly told in the protagonist, Aundrea’s point of view. We are first introduced to Aundrea after she is told some unfortunate news. She is 21 years old, trying to find a sense of normalcy in a word that is full of uncertainty for her. On a night when she decides, with encouragement from her friend Jean, to let loose and let her worries fall away and act like any 21-year-old she meets Parker. This encounter, is the beginning of a beautiful love story.

Aundrea’s journey throughout the book was heartbreaking. There were scenes that I just wanted to wrap her up and give her a hug or a shoulder to cry on. Although, every persons journey with cancer is different; I felt that Amanda Maxlyn did an honest portrayal of what someone with cancer might experience emotionally and physically. Nothing was sugar-coated. Through Aundrea, the reader got a glimpse of the physical and emotional turmoil cancer imparts on the human body and soul.

“But how do you tell someone you love that you have cancer? That you’re slowly slipping away? That your body is floating  away from you? There is no right time. No right moment.”

Although, Aundrea’s journey with cancer is pivotal in the story, it is not the only focus. What’s Left of Me, is also about letting down your walls and letting others in. Aundrea’s relationship with Parker was beautiful. Parker’s actions and word definitely placed him in dream boat status. Parker will have you swooning by the end of the book.

The epilogue, wow. I have to say it was a little shocking. My jaw might have dropped to the floor for a minuet. The last word of the book really hit me in the gut. I can’t say enough how much I love this book. This was an amazing debut novel by Amanda Maxlyn, and I can honestly says that if she ever releases anything else I will definitely will be reading more.

Amazon: http://amzn.com/B00H9VA030

5star

